Moscow City Galleries Network | The exhibition "Repatriation"

Выберите шрифт

Выберите размер

Цвета сайта

Exhibition

The exhibition "Repatriation"

The exhibition "Repatriation" of Ikuru Kuvadzhima will be opened on April 13 in the gallery "Peresvetov Pereulok" of Moscow City Galleries Network. Ikuru Kuvadzhima is an artist from Japan, he has been living in the post-Soviet countries and has been working with a local context more than 10 years. 

The basis of the project was the scientific research of the origin of wood thrown by the ocean on the coast of Iceland. In the middle of the XX century its number increased. According to some researchers, this surge can be associated with the organization of GULAG and the mass involvement of prisoners to work in the timber industry in Siberia. 

Ikuru Kuvadzhima: "Trees in Siberia are falling. Sometimes they fall into rivers and drift. Float to the Arctic, then freeze. And then float, and float in the ice on the North Ocean. After six or seven years and more, they sometimes float across the Atlantic Ocean and find themselves off the coast of Iceland, where they are highly valued by the locals, because there is a lack of trees there.

Until the 90s of the last century, many Icelanders could not afford to buy expensive building materials, so they specifically went to the shore for wood from the sea, from Siberia (rekaviðar in Icelandic — drifting tree)."

With the help of visual and sound overlays, the exhibition creates an image of this long drift. In the space of the exhibition there is a symbolic fusion of the weak-willed swimming of felled and lost trees with the weak-willed movement of people who fell under Soviet repression.


Project partner: State Museum of the History of the GULAG.


Ikuru Kuvadzhima is an artist from Japan. Last 5 years he traveled and worked in Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Ukraine and Romania. 
Ikuru Kuvadzhima's works were presented at the Venice Biennale in the Central Asia Pavilion (Italy, 2013), at the festival Noorderlicht "Metropolis - City Life in the Urban Age" (Holland, 2011), as part of the "Marie. Research / Chuvash. Research" (Triumph Gallery, Moscow, 2015), "Metageography" (Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow, 2015). In 2018, the Lumiere Brothers Photography Center hosted a personal exhibition "Me, Oblomov". Photobook "Me, Oblomov" was awarded the main prize in the Competition of book layouts PHOTOBOOKFEST 2017. 

Other Ikuru's photo books were awarded with international awards Kassel Dummy Award, Self Publish Riga, Vienna Photobook Award.


Opening: April 13 at 19:00

Share with friends
Gallery events
Exhibition
The exhibition "Repatriation"
The exhibition of Ikuru Kuvadzhima, an artist from Japan, who has been living in the post-Soviet countries and has been working with a local context more than 10 years
13 april 2019 —
14 may 2019
6+
Buy a ticket
We recommend
Exhibition
The exhibition “It's Always Tea-Time”
28 april 2019 —
16 june 2019

Exhibition
Выставка “Post 3D”
05 april 2019 —
02 june 2019

Exhibition
Exhibition “Moscow in the photographs of Alexandr Rodchenko”
14 march 2019 —
26 may 2019

Collapse
More 1

Выставочные залы Москвы | Выставка «Репатриация»

Выберите шрифт

Выберите размер

Цвета сайта

Выставка

Выставка «Репатриация»

13 апреля в галерее «Пересветов переулок» Объединения «Выставочные залы Москвы» пройдет открытие выставки «Репатриация» Икуру Куваджима — художника из Японии, более 10 лет живущего в странах постсоветского пространства и работающего с местным контекстом.

Основой проекта стали научные исследования происхождения древесины, выброшенной океаном на берега Исландии. В середине XX века её количество увеличилось. По мнению некоторых исследователей, этот всплеск можно связать с организацией ГУЛАГов и массовым привлечением заключенных к работам на лесозаготовках в Сибири. Прошлым летом художник отправился в Исландию собирать коряги, чтобы вернуть их в Россию.

Икуру Куваджима: «Деревья в Сибири падают. Иногда они попадают в реки и плывут по течению. Уплывают в Арктику, затем замерзают. И дальше плывут, и плывут во льдах по Северному океану. Спустя шесть-семь лет и больше они иногда переплывают Атлантический океан и оказывается у берегов Исландии, где их высоко ценят местные жители, потому что там растет мало деревьев.

До 90-х годов прошлого века многие исландцы не могли себе позволить покупать дорогие строительные материалы, поэтому специально выходили на берега за древесиной из моря, из Сибири (rekaviðar на исландском языке — дрейфующее дерево)».

При помощи визуальных и звуковых наложений выставка создаёт образ этого долгого дрейфа. В пространстве выставки происходит символическое сращение безвольного плаванья срубленных и утерянных деревьев с безвольным перемещением людей, попавших под советские репрессии.


Партнёр проекта: Государственный музей истории ГУЛАГа.


Икуру Куваджима – художник из Японии. Последние 5 лет путешествовал и работал в России, Казахстане, Киргизии, Украине и Румынии. Работы Икуру Куваджимы были представлены на Венецианской биеннале в павильоне Центральной Азии (Италия, 2013), на фестивале Noorderlicht «Metropolis – City Life in the Urban Age» (Голландия, 2011), в рамках проектов «Мари. Research/ Чуваши. Research» (галерея «Триумф», Москва, 2015) «Метагеография» (Третьяковская Галерея, Москва, 2015). В 2018 году в Центре фотографии имени братьев Люмьер прошла персональная выставка «Я, Обломов». Фотокнига «Я, Обломов» удостоилась главного приза в Конкурсе книжных макетов PHOTOBOOKFEST 2017. Другие фотокниги Икуру были отмечены международными наградами Kassel Dummy Award, Self Publish Riga, Vienna Photobook Award.


Открытие выставки состоится 13 апреля в 19:00

Рассказать друзьям
События галереи
Выставка
Выставка «Репатриация»
Выставка Икуру Куваджима — художника из Японии, более 10 лет живущего в странах постсоветского пространства и работающего с местным контекстом.
13 апреля 2019 —
14 мая 2019
6+
Купить билет
Рекомендуем
Выставка
Выставка «Время пить чай/It`s Always Tea-Time»
28 апреля 2019 —
16 июня 2019

Выставка
Выставка “Post 3D”
05 апреля 2019 —
02 июня 2019

Свернуть
Еще 1